The Noise That Won’t Go Away

As part of Think Kit’s challenge, I get daily prompts for blogging. Earlier this week, I was given the topic “The Noise That Won’t Go Away.” With the holiday season in full swing, my life was a whirlwind that day and I thought, “Uh, it’s all noise.” Rather than sit down and digest the millions of bells and whistles going off in my head, I pushed forward and ignored the blog prompt. Then, last night I tossed and turned all night, unable to shut my mind off. It was in the stillness of the night that I realized the topic struck a chord in me and it was time to stop and listen.

steve

The past four & a half years, I devoted my life to real estate in one form or another. Between property management and being a Realtor, I lived and breathed real estate. I worked like a maniac and earned numerous awards and accolades along the way. Knowing how hard it is to “make it” in the business, I tried to focus on my success and convince myself that I was happy. When I thought of the anxiety in my stomach or the way I neglected my family and friends, I told myself “Don’t be ungrateful. These clients have given you their trust. You owe them.” (Don’t misunderstand, I was and am extremely grateful for those people who real estate brought into my life. Their trust meant the world to me and I am forever grateful.) In fact, it was because of my special clients this past year that I refused to let myself feel anything personal because I was successful in the world’s eyes. I had shown everyone who expected me to fail that I, indeed, won. 
 
Unfortunately, while I “won” by the world’s standards, I lost by my own. I worked through my nephew’s birthday party to close a huge deal. I cancelled lunches with friends when not-so-great clients demanded my attention. I checked email and dealt with issues while on vacations or at the hospital.  I stopped volunteering in the community. I neglected my workouts. Simply stated – I lost what made me unique: my ability to encourage and engage others with laughter.

Luckily, last night I heard “The Noise That Won’t Go Away” over and over in my head. It was my heart, saying “Engage. Encourage. Experience.” Daily, I encounter people who need me to engage in conversations with them, giving them my 100% attention and build a relationship. There are people who need me to brighten their day with a corny joke or a funny picture. They need to experience the wonders of our community. They need to hear my experiences and create their own. People need to know I care about helping them succeed.
 
Therefore, with my real estate licenses in referral as of this morning, I am embarking on a new journey. I have no idea where it is going to lead me, but I can guarantee it will involve the words, “Engage. Encourage. Experience.” With the support of my friends and family, I plan to show everyone how awesome the Tri-State truly is.

Would love to hear any and all thoughts!

