I can fix the smell. I can’t fix stupid.

stink

When I was a property manager of a student housing complex, I once received a call from a young girl who came back from Thanksgiving break and had an awful smell in her apartment. Working with college kids, this was a common complaint. (Bless their hearts…) However, she said “It’s coming from the sink, Are you EVER going to come empty this garbage disposal?” I immediately paused, then said, “What do mean empty it? You moved in August 1st & it worked properly then.” She responded, “Uh yeah and I’ve not seen the maintenance guy empty it once.” Trying to control my laughter, I said, “Honey, there’s a switch to operate it. It’s not a trash can.” Needless to say, I advised her to NOT flip any switch at this point and wait for maintenance to arrive.

While not as extreme as those smells, we all battle that stinky disposal from time to time. Following is my quick fix tip that I learned through many years of trial and error, including the disposal “throwing up” on me. This is the best remedy I have found. If you try it, let me know what you think. I’d love to hear from you!

1. Fit a stopper into the sink, and fill with hot water and a squirt of dish detergent.
2. Turn on the disposal and let the soapy water drain, pushing gunk down the drain with it.
3. Throw 3 or 4 ice cubes and a handful of large-grain salt, such as Kosher, down the drain and run the disposal.
4. Flush with water, and you’ve got a clean disposal. Grind up a few lemons if you want a fresh, citrus smell.

Would love to hear any and all thoughts!

