Weird & Wacky Wednesday

Ever wonder where some architects get their ideas for building design? I am notorious for stopping and photographing weird looking buildings. In fact, for myself, the weirder it is the more I like it. Here are a few of my favorites:

    

1.  This home is located in Australia and definitely gives new meaning to the word “Treehouse.” The log home (get it? Hee hee) offers 450 square feet of living space.

2.  This seven story gift basket was built as a tribute and now serves as the corporate headquarters for Longaberger Gift Baskets in Ohio. (Can you imagine how big Little Red Riding Hood would be if a statue of her was built?)

3.  The Beer Can House was voted #1 Houston landmark in 2010. Built by John Milkovisch beginning in 1968, it boasts over 50,000 beer cans. Having seen it in person, I highly recommend checking it out in person. Tours are available weekends from noon-5:00 p.m.

4.  Kansas City Public Library is one of the neatest buildings I have seen in my life. The exterior defines the building like no other AND camouflages the parking garage.

4 comments

  1. Of course you’ve seen the beer can house in person, lol! I guess they stop tours at 5pm because it’s Happy Hour, right?

  2. There are a few windows, but they’re SO tiny! I think I’d go stir crazy without the natural light. Thanks for reading, Anna.

Would love to hear any and all thoughts!